Monday Insights: Got Raincoat?

“She says it’s cold outside and she hands me my raincoat . . .”

fantasy1That line from Matchbox 20’s “3 AM” came back to me recently and I found myself humming along to the tune in my head. While the rest of the lyrics don’t quite apply to what I want to talk about today, it felt fitting to begin here.

Sometimes we need a raincoat. It’s easy – especially for the fiercely independent – to feel like we can do it all on our own. We tell ourselves that we can juggle it all — work, family, problems, etc, without once breaking our stride. This can be true maybe, for a time, but often we end up burning out and folding into proverbial balls, especially when on top of all of this life sends us rain.

fantasy2Now life’s rain isn’t always a bad thing. It could refer to a huge wash of blessings coming at us one after another that we can hardly stand how amazing it all is, or, it could be that issue after issue piles on making us feel like we’re in the midst of an fantasy1ongoing storm. Either way, if we aren’t able to handle it well, the outcome isn’t pretty.

People can act as raincoats to help us weather, well, the weather. They share our joys and our pain, our ups and our downs and as they do, act as a shield to the torrents that might be pouring down. Regular readers of Monday Insights posts know I’m an advocate for not relying on others for emotional relief, however, sometimes it’s okay to take a break and let someone else look after us :).

 

 

How do you take shelter from life’s storms? Talk to me in the comments below :).

 

Monday Insights are honest accounts of things I experience in my life, all rolled into what I hope are inspirational messages. Join me each Monday for more :).

 

 

mon4Welcome all new followers of my blog, I wish you and all my faithful supporters a wonderful week and, for more tidbits like this one, search using the keywords Monday Insights :).


Share Comments Below

