Random Wednesdays: Awake/Interview

Hello all and thanks for joining me for the midweek edition :)!

I was recently interviewed on Lexirad.com, author and entrepreneur Alexis Radcliff’s website. You should definitely check fantasy2it out as there are loads of interesting articles, information about her writing and upcoming release, and much more to be found and enjoyed. As for my interview where I share of forgotten love and days as a geisha (not really ^_^) you can find that here: JJ Interview.

Today I want to share a throwback, inspired by the interview. How? Well, one of the things Alexis asked me about, was my interest in writing other genres like psychological thriller and Caribbean literature. As such, here’s an excerpt from a short story that can already be found on this site and was written a few years ago.

We enter as Anna loses her grip on reality. Or is it already lost? Enjoy :):

 

Awake

fantasy2~ Inside my head. That’s where it all started. Well, that’s not quite right, it really started weeks ago on the corner of a wet street as the rain fell and I stood on the sidewalk cursing myself inwardly for not having bought an umbrella. I always tended to do that, complained whenever I remembered I needed something. So there I stood in a drenched summer dress and wedges, tears mixing with the green stuff pouring from my nose. I could barely see. Barely hear what was going on around me. Random people pushing past, angry at this crazy woman taking up the walking space as they hurried from work, to homes, to lovers, to bars. I couldn’t move though. I couldn’t move because; this was where it started. I was going to die.

I was going to die and there was nothing anyone could do about it. I would die and I would leave everything behind. My new condo. My dog Sam. It was all going to disappear as I was buried under six feet of crumbling dirt. No one would even care enough to help me. When death came for me he would come smiling, ready to embrace me as he had so many before, many who were worthier of his touch.

fantasy1So there I stood, somewhere between a department store and an abandoned alley. My hands clutched my purse and hair stuck unceremoniously to my face as I considered my fate. No, I didn’t have a disease. I hadn’t been threatened, no one was about to run me over. But, my mind held on and it wouldn’t let go, it ruled in that instant and in those moments it was bigger than anything, bigger than me and it was saying.

“You are going to die . . .” ~

 

Hope you enjoyed the excerpt and you can read the rest of the story ‘here!’

 

What do you do when you feel like you’re completely losing it? Share with me in the comments below ^_^.

Have a great evening all and I’ll see you Friday ^_^!

 

 

 

 

AWAKENING COVERPlease note: After this long break both parts of Chapter 16: Glamorous Lies, will be posted on ‘Jackie Jones on Wattpad.’ on April 11, 2015. The remaining 4 chapters: Chapters 17-20 will be released on April 15 – 18, 2015!

Look out for the Awakening Character Guide on April 8, 2015 and catch up with the story using the link above, as with only FIVE chapters left, you’ll want to catch up ^_^.

Remember you can also contact me for information about facilitating reviews, interviews, etc on this blog site ^_^.


Share Comments Below

