Monday Insights: You By Definition

fantasy1Who are you? I’ll give you a minute to answer that . . .

Often we allow ourselves to be defined by our pasts, or what others think or say about us, instead of defining ourselves by who we want to be.

I’m not going to say ‘as we see ourselves’, as at times our portrayal in our heads is far from flattering. Let’s face it, we can be the meanest mean girls on the street when it comes to thinking about who we are fantasy2and if we’re not careful, can rehash this negativity on a daily until it sticks. That’s why I prefer ‘how we want to be’.

I want to always be compassionate, driven and so on and one of the things I want to curb, is my stubbornness that can sometimes get me into trouble ^_^. I’ve been called lots of things in my life, some not so great, and at times I’ve let the negative names stick. I’d repeat them to myself, see merit in them and decide to throw up my hands and go, oh well, guess that’s me then. Wrong.

fantasy2There’s no need to keep on that jacket of *insert whatever you don’t like about yourself here*. Why should any of us have to? If we’re always trying to be better versions of ourselves, doesn’t that also mean that we can shed definitions we don’t want to fit us?

I like defining myself on the positive scale. Sure, I know everything about me isn’t great, so I work on those things. All the while I endeavour to remember the good and don’t take on fantasy2unwarranted definitions. We have to define ourselves and can’t let other individuals or situations be the determining factors in this decision. And, as regular readers know I love to say, in the end all we can do is be the best we can be :).

 

How do you define yourself? Talk to me in the comments below :).

 

 

 

mon4Welcome all new followers of my blog, I wish you and all my faithful supporters a wonderful week and, for more tidbits like this one, search using the keywords Monday Insights :).


Share Comments Below

