Random Wednesdays: Secrets Excerpt

Welcome to the midweek edition :)!

WattpadSECRETSI love having free reads available for your enjoyment. One of them is Book 1 in the YA action & adventure/fantasy Return of the Guardian Trilogy –> ‘SECRETS which is free’ on Obooko.com.

Today I’m going to share a short excerpt from Chapter 8 of Secrets. We enter as Emma is rudely awakened to the fact that her ‘super powers’ aren’t saying much against those who grew up understanding what they are. Enjoy :):

 

SECRETS (Chapter 8 Excerpt)

fantasy1~ “I saw Emma, just before you changed back.” I swallowed hard. This was definitely not good. Though I didn’t think anyone would believe her, there was no telling what unnecessary attention would be drawn to me if she did decide to spill. I quickly sorted through my options.

“I don’t know what you’re talking about Adelaide,” I said stoically. Deny, deny, deny.

“I saw you Emma, you don’t have to be afraid, I won’t . . .” Without letting her finish, I pounced at her, knocking her over and pinning her to the ground. It was as if my body was doing its own thing and I was just along for the ride. I couldn’t let Adelaide go with this kind of knowledge and I couldn’t see any other way around it than to get rid of her. I was on top of Adelaide, my right arm fantasy2high in the air, claws out, prepared to strike. It should have been quick and easy, I could have taken her throat before she even knew she was dead, only, it was suddenly as if I couldn’t move. I was frozen in place and though I was well aware of all that was happening, the howling wind, the leaves rustling happily, I just could not move. Adelaide could though and she slid from beneath me in a fluid motion. As she did, my knees connected with ground and my arm came down on its own, stabbing painfully into the dirt.

“What the hell did you just do?” I screamed at her, more because of the pain than anything else. I looked to where she stood a few feet away.

fantasy2“I just poked a few of your pressure points without you realising, something my dad taught me,” she said, then added, “If you’d grown up with us, gone through the same training, you would’ve been immune by now.” I was more confused than ever until Adelaide cleared it up for me. Her face started to change shape. She looked like some kind of humanoid fox with dark hair, that was rapidly turning blonde. Her teeth came down over her lower lips and her eyebrows became as blonde as her hair. Then, just like that, she was Adelaide again.

I sat back on my heels, understanding coming to me, and mentally knocking me over like a massive wave hitting a surfer dead-on.

fantasy2“So you’re . . .?”

“Yes, I’m tenari like you,” she finished for me. This was all too much information to process. I’d come here looking for nothing more than my family and had found someone other than them, who was like me? It was mind-boggling. ~

 

Adelaide is one of my favourite supporting characters in this trilogy and though she’s not featured as much in Ayestra Calling, her fans can stay tuned as she’ll be back in fine form in the final book :).

 

 

Check out the Ayestra Calling book trailer below :):

 

– REPEAT below –

Additionally here are some passages from Ayestra Calling for your reading pleasure :):

fantasy1 ‘Excerpt 1’:Enter the story with this short unedited excerpt taken from Chapter 2, as Tai is unwillingly pulled into dangerous conversation with Emma.

‘Excerpt 2’: This unedited excerpt is taken from Chapter 3. Emma is about to swim for her supper and will encounter much more than she expected.

– END of repeat –

 

What would you do if you found out you had superhuman powers? Share with me in the comments below ^_^.

Have a great evening all and I’ll see you Friday ^_^!

 

 

 

 

AWAKENING COVERPlease note: After this long break both parts of Chapter 16: Glamorous Lies, will be posted on ‘Jackie Jones on Wattpad.’ on April 11, 2015. The remaining 4 chapters: Chapters 17-20 will be released on April 15 – 18, 2015!

Look out for the Awakening Character Guide on April 8, 2015 and catch up with the story using the link above, as with only FIVE chapters left, you’ll want to catch up ^_^.

Remember you can also contact me for information about facilitating reviews, interviews, etc on this blog site ^_^.


Share Comments Below

