Monday Insights: Nothing Missed, Nothing Gained

mon1It’s Kadooment Day in Barbados (think carnival). It is the day that brings the Crop Over Season to a close. People will be dressed up in colourful costumes, dancing, drinking and revelling the day and night away.

I’ve jumped for Kadooment before and taken part in the activities, however, it’s not really my scene anymore. The reason I bring it up for today’s insight though, is that I’ve been asked by multiple people to take part in the festivities, come out of the ‘cave’ and have fun. I’ve seen the pictures of people having a blast over the last days and I haven’t had the slightest urge to go out and join them at all. Reason? I’m working.

mon4It’s easy to feel like we’re missing something, like life will pass us by as we try to attain our goals. I’m not for a moment saying not to take breaks, or enjoy time with friends or family, what I’m getting at is not feeling the need to take part when you have more pressing matters to address. Especially those that can determine the course of your future.

mon2I used to feel like I was missing something when everyone else was out and I was in. Often I’d give in to this feeling and though it’d be fun while I was there, in the back of my mind I knew I should be doing something else and it would make the outing less appealing.

Lovely readers, make time for those you love, for hobbies, for things that bring pure joy of course do that, but remember that even those moments mon3spent pulling your hair out as you try to push forward, as you type away trying to finish your latest *insert whatever here*, know that when you’ve finished, it will be an even sweeter feeling rejoining the world again. You’ll feel accomplished, you won’t have to think about things like getting home at a certain time to finish this or that, you’ll be free knowing you’ve done your best, put your best foot forward and now are just sitting back enjoying the rewards :).

 

Have a wonderful week lovely readers and for more tidbits like this one, search using the keywords Monday Insights πŸ™‚.


5 thoughts on “Monday Insights: Nothing Missed, Nothing Gained

Share Comments Below

