Monday Insights: Stuck In A Viral Cat Video?

cats1I was watching a silly video recently – don’t remember about what maybe flying cats or something – when a thought came to me: Remember the days before viral videos, when people did crazy things for laughs not hits?

Before I continue, let me just say kudos for the marketing tactics used to ensure more hits or interest in products. I might not agree with all of them, but then, some of mine others might not agree with either. In summary, this post is not to bash or undermine viral videos or similar content, or, the individuals behind them.

 

cat4What I want to focus on is why we do the things we do. How often in any given day are we simply rolling with the crowd, or seeking a laugh, or doing something just so we’re liked more? Some of you are saying, ‘but Jackie, everyone likes being liked’ and I can agree that most of us do. However, when being liked compromises who we are, our standards and beliefs, then it’s time to rethink our approach.

catyI’ve had to take stands in the past and endured being an island, so I know it’s not always the easiest thing. It feels icky being on the outside while everyone else stands as a united front. In the end though, I was glad I did and guess what, later on I had others come tell me that they agreed with my stance, but didn’t want to be ridiculed for it.

Every day as we do our best to make the masses like us, we’re performing. We’re literally like cats back flipping in a viral video. I perform too and sometimes I don’t like the person I have to be in order to garner applause. Sometimes I want to be in a corner silent, not in the middle of the floor spewing zinger after zinger to please the crowd.  I will say that yes, there are times when performing is necessary, but when the curtain falls, why does the play continue?

catgToday and onward, let’s try to leave the cameras behind when we don’t need them rolling. Let’s try to be ourselves as much as possible. Even if it’s only with those closest to us in the beginning, bit by bit let’s work at evolving into who we truly want to be. ~All life’s a stage ~ why can’t ours be one built by us, for us?

 

Have a wonderful week lovely readers and for more tidbits like this one, search using the keywords Monday Insights :).


One thought on “Monday Insights: Stuck In A Viral Cat Video?

Share Comments Below

