Monday Insights: Don’t Wanna? Just Start.

don't-wannaSometimes we just don’t feel like it. Don’t feel like what you probably want to know, but it could be pretty much anything. Don’t feel like taking out the trash, don’t feel like blogging, don’t feel like hanging out with friends, don’t feel like . . . you get the picture.

We all have moments where our first reaction is ‘No, I don’t wanna!’ and in some instances, it’s okay to give into that voice and, though we like to hold onto it at times, we can do this guilt-free (that’s another insight for another Monday). However, when the ‘don’t wannas’ hinder progress, that’s when we need to sit up and get in gear.

kcik I give into this feeling more often than I should and end up kicking myself for not doing what I ignored at the time. Our lives are such topsy turvy things, where anything can happen, that if we don’t have to put off the important stuff, we should try really hard not to. How many times have you deferred a task, only to end up too busy to get back to it days later and wonder ‘crap, why didn’t I?’. More than enough I’m sure.

startSo here’s what we should all try to do: When the feeling comes on, push it aside and immediately move towards completing the task. Think about why it’s necessary to do so and with the goal in mind, begin. Don’t let the ‘don’t wannas’ set you back. Just start.

 

Wishing you all a wonderful week and for more tidbits like this one, search using the keywords Monday Insights :).


4 thoughts on “Monday Insights: Don’t Wanna? Just Start.

  1. Jackie, I can so relate to this post today! Sometimes I get tired of ‘having to do’ a whole set of things and would rather ‘not do’ anything at all. Can I please just have one single day where I don’t have to do anything but breathe???? Sigh. Guess that’s a dream that will never become reality so tell you what. Seeing as how I’m totally agreeing with your thought for today, how about encouraging readers to develop a buddy system with their friends aka you support me and I’ll support you kind of thingy? Could be just what is needed to actually get out there and press S-T-A-R-T 🙂 Happy Monday!

    1. Thanks so much for sharing Gale and apologies for the late reply. You made me smile with your frantic beginning (oh how I loathe those moments lol).

      Its a really good idea you have there with the buddy system, if you’re interested, you’re welcome to write a guest post on the subject for a future Monday Insight post :).

Share Comments Below

