Random Wednesdays: Guardian (Tenari Trilogy Book 2 Excerpt)

Hey all, how are you now we’ve reached the midweek? I hope the days are treating you well and you’re progressing as you want to :).

YA1I had to post earlier than usual today, as it’s a busy one and I wasn’t certain I’d be able to later on. I want to share a short excerpt from The Tenari Trilogy book 2: Guardian, which is to be released in a few months, with a close follow up of book 3. The first book was my second attempt at YA, as before that I’d always written for adults. It’s interesting the different use of slang and prose between the age-groups and to be honest, wasn’t always fun trying to get the hang of the YA approach. However, like all things that you have to work at, I’m glad I did, otherwise I wouldn’t have had the pleasure of creating this new kind of fae universe — without wings and just as deadly ^_^. Enjoy this excerpt from book 2: Guardian.

 

?????????????????~ “Who are you?” Tai asked, stepping further forward. The man grinned at us, rows of perfectly white teeth earning him the title of ‘Mr. Colgate’ in my head.

“The more interesting revelation is who she is. I thought all of you were dead.” His gaze landed on me and his eyes twinkled mischievously.

“That is none of your concern.” Tai’s bravado, while appreciated, was unnecessary. The last fight had showed me that I no longer needed protecting. I wasn’t the daft little fae-girl that had first turned up in Rushwood and ever since my transformation had been complete, I was stronger than ever. I just hadn’t realised it because I’d had no real avenues to test my skills. I came to stand beside Tai, asserting myself,

“He asked you a question,” The grin didn’t fade and the man didn’t skip a beat either. He swooped into a low bow, announcing,

fantasy2“Gundor Lat,” then standing, “My manners escaped me in the presence of one such as you.”

“I’m single, white, female, nothing more.” He winked knowingly,

“Ah, I see, so this is not the grand return of the zei?”

“I have no idea what you’re talking about,” I said honestly, stealing a glance at Tai. His eyes had not left Gundor and I could see the claws on one hand unfurled, ready should the need arise.

fantasy1“Well,” Gundor continued, “It is said that the zei will return in a blaze of fire and thunder to right the wrongs of Ayestrans and put an end to this gods forsaken war.” Gundor spread his arms out in a grand gesture, revealing a tunic inside his cloak that was lined with what seemed like hundreds of little pockets. “Unless of course, your fire comes in the form of a frightened girl . . . ” ~

 

Gundor Lat is going to be a great character to read about in book 2, but make sure you catch up with book 1: Secrets of the Tenari, first (links available below). Thanks for joining me lovely readers and I’ll see you Friday :)!

 

 

 

 

 

 

WARDENS 4 CoversLove urban fantasy? Check out Skins (The Wardens: Episode 1) ‘here’, Howl (The Wardens: Episode 2) ‘here’,Lust (The Wardens: Episode 3) ‘here’, Taken (The Wardens: Episode 4) ‘here’ and Cemetery Party (The Wardens: Episode 5) ‘here’ on Amazon!

SotT Front CoverN.B: My YA paranormal/fantasy Secrets of the Tenari (Book 1 in the Tenari Trilogy) can be found ‘on Amazon,’ and, read excerpts from the book ‘here’ & ‘here. If you want to peruse WIP excerpts/flash fiction, search using the keywords Random Wednesdays :).


Share Comments Below

