Random Wednesdays: Get Lost

hostages1Has anyone else started watching Hostages? Those kinds of story arcs aren’t usually my thing but I have to admit that after seeing Dylan McDermott on American Horror Story, I now have a ‘happy place’ for his brand of ‘dark acting’, so was curious as to what this new series would bring.

 

However, that’s not what I’m going to write about today, in fact pretty far from, unless of course you consider being holed up writing for hours on end as being held hostage. If that’s the case, I’m developing Stockholm Syndrome as I’m perfectly happy with this arrangement :).

writeclockEarlier today I told my Twitter followers that I hadn’t been around because I was “lost in worlds of my own making” and that statement is entirely true. I’ve been so caught up with the new material I’ve been working on, that had my mother not been out of town leaving most of the responsibility for my little sister to me, I might have even forgotten to eat. It feels good to be this attached to characters again, but as a writer constantly building up my author platform, it’s important that I don’t get so lost that I forget everything else around me.

appliancesIt’s easy too. If you’ve ever been very passionate about anything at all, you know exactly what I mean. Doesn’t have to be writing. Maybe it was an art project, a band, new kitchen appliance, or a fantastic lover, whatever it was, you know what it’s like to lose yourself. We forget that there are other things going on around us and nothing else seems to matter but what we’re doing in that moment. For example, I purposely post later on Wednesdays and Fridays, but today I almost forgot all about it because I was finishing up a chapter! I’m trying to do better, really I am and trying to remember to step outside the comfort that is writing a new story, because if I don’t, how else will I share with all of you?

~ Oh glorious words, keep me in your warm embrace, but remind me of the characters who exist in worlds outside of my own. ~

 

 

 

 

SotT Front CoverN.B: My YA paranormal/fantasy Secrets of the Tenari (Book 1 in the Tenari Trilogy) can be found ‘on Amazon,’ and, read excerpts from the book ‘here’ & ‘here.’ If you want to peruse WIP excerpts/flash fiction, search using the keywords Random Wednesdays :).


Share Comments Below

