Friday Highlights 48

This week has been interesting. Not only have I had to beat new ideas off with a stick (after jotting them down of course), but I’ve been watching the deadline my little sister set for me creep up very quickly.

 

One day chickens, your luck might run out...
One day chickens, your luck might run out…

Quickdates

1) Working on part 2 of one of my series and, because my sister loved the first so much, she’s being rather unforgiving about me not finishing by her September 1 deadline. The unfortunate thing about that is I have a writing job for a magazine with the same deadline that will take me away from cracking that whip as much as I’d like to.

2) I feel like I have a clearer picture of the lay of the land going forward for my writing and that includes finishing many odds and ends by the last week of December 2013. The reason I needΒ  to do this, is to free up my mind and workload for things that I’d like to get cracking on very early next year.

coolcucumber3) I’ve started submitting again, one YA and one adult novel. I haven’t sent out very many and because I believe you should really pick and choose how you send (because every agent or publisher doesn’t want what we’re selling as writers — genres or subject matter don’t always match up) it takes up lots of time figuring out exactly who might most enjoy my stories and want to represent them. As such, this process takes me a lot longer and this is one of the reasons I don’t have many all over the place on submission. It’s always a bit of a heart wrenching process because these are our babies being thrown out there into the world, but truthfully, I feel less worried nowadays and that, I’m very glad for. On that note, writers, believe in what you write, it’s beautiful in your way.

 

Lovely readers thanks for joining me again and you can read about some of the crazy things that have happened in my life using the keywords Jackie Reveals. Additionally, if you’re travelling to the Caribbean this summer, check out Caribbean Dos and Don’ts ‘here’. Be safe, happy and share the good vibes with others.

 

SotT Front CoverN.B: From now on, I’ll be featuring blogs that I really enjoy once a month instead of every Friday. My YA paranormal/fantasy Secrets of the Tenari (Book 1 in the Tenari Trilogy) can be found ‘here’ on Amazon and, if you’d like to submit your book for review contact below, or in the comments section.

 

 

 

 

 


Share Comments Below

