Random Wednesdays: Chicks & Lit

Though I love writing fantasy and science fiction, every now and then I try my hand at genres that are a little outside of these boxes. Some years ago I wrote a chick lit novella, a very different experience for me, but haven’t yet decided exactly what I want to do with it. Here’s a short excerpt:

 

cathryn1~     Cathryn knew she should do some work. She hadn’t gone into the office and was behind on approving the month’s layout. There was always hell when that happened. She couldn’t move though. She’d sat in the same spot for hours, at first contenting herself by watching television, then by sleeping and finally there she was, just sitting staring at the wall, a piece of unbathed furniture. She’d called Reese to see if he’d be up for anything, but after the phone had rung the first few times, she’d decided he must be busy and had given up. She supposed he’d call her back when he had time. She thought about walking around her block as it was a nice night and the fresh air would do her good. This was quickly abandoned for the simple reason that she didn’t feel good enough to move. The nausea never stopped. It was like this never-ending quake in the pit of her stomach, that made her feel as if throwing up was the only option, only, it never happened. She took it like a trooper though, believing with all her heart that she deserved whatever pain and suffering would come her way, especially as she was about to commit murder. ~

 

SotT Front CoverCome on guys it’s me, no matter the genre you must expect a little blood and intrigue lol. Have great days and check out my  YA paranormal/fantasy Secrets of the Tenari ‘here’ on Amazon.

Additionally, find excerpts from Secrets of the Tenari ‘here’ & ‘here.’ If you want to peruse WIP excerpts/flash fiction, search using the keywords Random Wednesdays :).


13 thoughts on “Random Wednesdays: Chicks & Lit

  1. Ha! That’s not fair…now you’ve got me thinking! 🙂

    By the way, Amazon sent me an email this morning, with some recommendations and “Secrets of the Tenari” was on the list…should I keep that a secret?

    1. Nevaaaarrrrr! I mean *cough* do what you want. But, it would be lovely if you didn’t keep it secret, especially as all formatting evils have been rectified :).

      Also, that’s a good thing, an author having you thinking ^_^.

  2. I hope that wasn’t what wore you out, formatting. For that has been the easiest aspect of the whole process, thankfully!

    I’m chucking now about those secrets because one of my mischievous characters has this thing about them. Someone asked her if she could keep a secret, but she honestly replied, “I can’t say until I hear it”!

    Now as for this thinking stuff, not sure about that…a toss-up between that and dreaming. 🙂

    Finally, have you had much feedback on the book?

    1. Not enough review wise on Amazon, (have had betas give me their lovely thoughts) but hoping that will change soon, especially when I can push it more again.

      Formatting was the least of my worries, especially when I threw it at my new formatter and said “You are the master I see that now, fix it!” LOL!

      Your character sounds very funny, as if I’d love reading about her and I will :).

  3. Oh yeah, she’s by far the funniest, so charming, but seems to have no idea what “the rules” are, so I have to keep a tight rein on her. For example, just today I found her sneaking into someone else’s blog! 🙂

      1. Do you get attached to your characters while you’re writing? I’m sure you do…will let us know who your favorite is, or is that a secret?

        In my case, I had to protect this one, my friend, right from the start, chapter two, and then right to the end…but in the end, all one can do is throw one’s hands up!

      2. I’ll definitely reveal more as we go along and yes, I become very attached. When they have to die, or suffer, I feel it, sometimes deeply, but what must be done, must be.

Share Comments Below

