Monday Insights: Want To Be Liked?

Most people we know do three things: never get close, grow on us and stay, or grow apart. We’re not going to be liked by everyone and in five years, some of those who care for us now, unfortunately won’t be around. It likeyoutook me a little time to realise that this is okay. As human beings, we love to be liked, it makes us feel all warm inside. The thing is though, we have to learn to accept those that don’t fancy us, or those that aren’t there for the long haul, and show our appreciation for the ones who are there, steadfast.

Currently I’m going through a situation that tests this theory harshly and it’s easy to get caught up in the negative tide sometimes. However, I stop and think about those who care about me and are genuinely concerned about my well-being. I talk to them, laugh with them, recall all the reasons why I care for them too and little by little, the other feelings dissipate.

I know I’m not all the way there yet, but I’ll get there eventually and, you can too :).


6 thoughts on “Monday Insights: Want To Be Liked?

Share Comments Below

