Random Wednesdays: Blog Hop

blog hopThis Wednesday’s post is going to be a little different, as I’ve been tagged to take part in The Next Big Thing Blog Hop. Through the the ancient art of internet bungee hopping, readers get to discover many new authors and writers. Okay really, it’s not an ancient art, you just click on the links :). Like my blog hopper predecessor ‘Laura Ritchie’s’ who’s currently getting her novel all nice and pretty for a March 1, 2013 release. Find out more about Laura’s lovely craziness and her book ‘The Enduring’

Thanks to Laura’s tag, I have the opportunity to share with all of you about my WIP (work in progress), though I must warn you, I’m not yet willing to give too much away :).

 

1) What is the working title of your book?

Secrets of the Tenari (Book 1)

worldbuilding2) Where did the idea come from for the book?

I love creating completely new races, worlds, etc and at first I’d thought of turning to aliens (as I tend to do at times). However, while deliberating, I decided on the race now known as tenari instead ^-^.

3) What genre does your book come under?

YA Fantasy

4) Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I see the characters clearly in my head, but haven’t given much thought to their celeb doubles.

5) What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Teenage life can be rough, especially when your family wants you dead. (Sorry guys; more later ^-^).

digital-self-publishing6) Is your book self-published, published by an independent publisher, or represented by an agency?

None of the above, but hoping to self-publish in the very near future.

7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

About a month and a half.

8) What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Writing within this genre is new for me, as I usually write adult fiction. However, if I had to compare, I’d say any titles featuring strong female leads, sexy undertones and characters with lots of layers. Think ‘Hotpants Onion Girl’ style. No, that is not the actual name of a book ^-^ (I hope).

inspiration29) Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I honestly can’t say for sure, what would have been the one thing I could pinpoint as the inspiration. Maybe this sounds cliché, but I often have so many ideas floating around, inspired by dreams, pictures, situations, etc, and sometimes I reach out, grab hold and write about them. This book most likely would have started as one of those times :).

10) What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Expect interesting, fearless characters who’ll do anything to protect, or uncover, their dirty little secrets.

 

I haven’t yet been able to tag anyone else (seems I’m late to the party and many of my prospects had already done it). That said, I’ll try my best and hopefully have a new author link for you all later this week. Additionally, if you want to take part in the Blog Hop, the invitation to do so is wide open :). Enjoy the rest of your days :D!


Share Comments Below

